Many previous and current members of MeLoDy Lab have contributed to the brainstorming and development of the BioRECIPE format. The format has gone through several versions and revisions.

The first version of the BioRECIPE format was developed by Dr. Khaled Sayed, Dr. Cheryl Telmer, Dr. Adam Butchy, and Dr. Natasa Miskov-Zivanov. This format was inspired by the evaluation format suggested as part of DARPA’s Big Mechanism program. The original BioRECIPE format was presented at the Machine Learning, Optimization, and Big Data (MOD) conference, where it received the Best Paper Award.

The current version of the BioRECIPE format has been developed thanks to the additional efforts of Dr. Kara Bocan, Dr. Casey Hansen, Dr. Emilee Holtzapple, Dr. Gaoxiang Zhou, Difei Tang, Haomiao Luo, Dr. Yasmine Ahmed, and Stefan Andjelkovic.

The authors of this documentation are Dr. Natasa Miskov-Zivanov, Dr. Gaoxiang Zhou, Dr. Emilee Holtzapple, Difei Tang, and Haomiao Luo.


This work was funded by DARPA Big Mechanism award, AIMCancer (W911NF-17-1-0135), but NSF EAGER award (CCF-2324742), and by the University of Pittsburgh, Swanson School of Engineering.